Home › Guides › USP Class VI vs ISO 10993
USP Class VI vs ISO 10993: what's the difference?
Short answer: USP Class VI is a fixed set of animal tests on extracts of a material. ISO 10993 is a series of standards for evaluating the biological safety of a finished medical device, where the tests you need depend on how and how long the device contacts the body. A resin that "meets USP Class VI" or is "ISO 10993 tested" is a useful starting point, not a substitute for evaluating your device.
| USP Class VI | ISO 10993 | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | The most comprehensive of the six plastic classes defined in USP general chapter <88> Biological Reactivity Tests, In Vivo, until the revised chapter removes the classes on December 1, 2026 (see below) | A multi-part international standard for biological evaluation of medical devices; ISO 10993-1 sets the framework within a risk management process |
| What is tested | Extracts of the material in a systemic injection test and an intracutaneous test, plus an implantation test. Extracts are prepared at 50, 70 or 121 °C, and the class is reported with that temperature | Endpoints chosen by contact type and duration, for example cytotoxicity (10993-5), sensitization (10993-10), irritation (10993-23), systemic toxicity (10993-11), genotoxicity (10993-3), implantation (10993-6) and hemocompatibility (10993-4), supported by chemical characterization (10993-18) |
| Applies to | A material or formulation | The device in its final finished form, including processing and sterilization |
| Contact duration | Not considered | Central: limited (up to 24 h), prolonged (24 h to 30 days) or long-term (over 30 days) |
| Regulatory use | Common in supplier literature and for pharmaceutical and biopharma contact materials | The basis of FDA's biocompatibility guidance for device submissions (FDA ISO 10993-1 guidance) |
What this means when you read a data sheet
- "ISO 10993 tested" rarely means every part. Suppliers usually test a few endpoints, often cytotoxicity (-5) and sometimes hemocompatibility (-4). Ask which parts and which test articles.
- USP Class VI covers fewer endpoints than a typical device evaluation. It has no sensitization, genotoxicity or chronic toxicity data, so it rarely satisfies a device biocompatibility evaluation by itself.
- Your process changes the material. Colorants, additives, molding conditions, cleaning and sterilization can all change what extracts from a part. Resin data supports your evaluation; it doesn't replace it.
- Statements are tied to a grade and a date. Request the current certificate or compliance letter for the exact grade, and note the supplier's change-notification and healthcare policies.
- USP <88> changes on December 1, 2026. The revised chapter removes the Class I to VI classification; see the section below.
USP <88> changes on December 1, 2026
Added 2026-10-17 · updated 2026-10-17
USP has revised general chapter <88> Biological Reactivity Tests, In Vivo. USP's notice gives December 1, 2026 as the date the revised chapter becomes official (USP-NF notice). The revision removes the chapter's classification of plastics into Classes I to VI, so from that date USP no longer defines a "Class VI" designation. Of the three in vivo tests in the current chapter (systemic injection, intracutaneous and implantation), only the systemic injection test remains, and USP <87> (in vitro biological reactivity) is revised and expanded on the same date.
Scope: the revised <88> and <87> are written for packaging systems for drugs and for packaging of combination products regulated by FDA's drug center (CDER). For medical devices, and for combination products regulated as devices, both chapters refer readers to FDA's device guidance (revised <88>, revised <87>). For device biocompatibility that means the biological evaluation framework of ISO 10993-1 described in FDA's ISO 10993-1 guidance. USP does not present ISO 10993 as a replacement for Class VI. ISO 10993-1 was already the device framework.
Existing data: the change does not invalidate Class VI testing already performed. Industry commentary describes it as historical evidence that can still support a material's safety documentation where appropriate (Saint-Gobain; see also ISPE). What ends is USP's Class VI designation for new claims.
What this means for MedResin data: 185 of the 338 public grades list USP Class VI in their cited supplier literature. Those entries record what the supplier stated about testing done under the chapter as it stood; we keep them as stated and will update them as suppliers revise their documents. For new specifications, ask the supplier what biocompatibility data it will provide after December 1, 2026 (for a device, typically ISO 10993 test reports; USP <87> data where relevant) and base the device evaluation on ISO 10993-1. See also USP Class VI vs ISO 10993.
How MedResin records these fields
The USP VI column is checked when the supplier states USP Class VI testing or compliance. The ISO 10993 column is checked when the supplier references ISO 10993 testing or compliance for the grade, including family- or portfolio-level statements that name its product line. Where a supplier cites only cytotoxicity (ISO 10993-5), the column is usually left blank and the grade page explains why. "Limited" means the supplier reports a restriction or a failed endpoint.
137 grades stating both USP Class VI and ISO 10993
48 grades stating USP Class VI without a counted ISO 10993 statement
Of these 48 grades, 24 have a partial statement in the cited source: cytotoxicity testing only (ISO 10993-5 or unspecified), or a limited ISO 10993 result. The other 24 have no ISO 10993 or cytotoxicity mention in the cited source at all. A blank still means "not stated", not "not tested": suppliers may hold further data or file it in an FDA master file.
13 grades stating ISO 10993 without a USP Class VI statement
| Grade | Maker | Family |
|---|---|---|
| Zeniva ZA-600 | Syensqo (Solvay) | PEEK |
| ULTEM HU1000 | SABIC | PEI |
| ULTEM HU1010 | SABIC | PEI |
| ULTEM HU1100 | SABIC | PEI |
| ULTEM HU2100 | SABIC | PEI (10% GF) |
| ULTEM HU2200 | SABIC | PEI (20% GF) |
| ULTEM HU2300 | SABIC | PEI (30% GF) |
| ULTEM HU1004 | SABIC | PEI blend |
| LEXAN HPX4 | SABIC | PC copolymer |
| LEXAN HPX8R | SABIC | PC copolymer |
| LEXAN HPX8REU | SABIC | PC copolymer |
| Radel R-5000 | Syensqo (Solvay) | PPSU |
| Radel R-5100 | Syensqo (Solvay) | PPSU |
7 grades with a limited ISO 10993 statement
See each grade page for the supplier's note.
| Grade | Maker | Family | USP VI |
|---|---|---|---|
| VESTAMID Care ME26 | Evonik | PEBA | ✔ |
| Makrolon M6011 FR | Covestro | PC (flame retardant) | |
| Bayblend M301 FR | Covestro | PC/ABS (flame retardant) | |
| Bayblend M303 FR | Covestro | PC/ABS (flame retardant) | |
| Makroblend M525 | Covestro | PC/PBT | |
| Makroblend M4000 FR | Covestro | PC/PBT (flame retardant) | |
| Makroblend M5005 FR | Covestro | PC/PBT (flame retardant) |
See also: USP Class VI plastics list · ISO 10993 tested medical plastics
Sources for the USP <88> section: USP-NF notice · ISPE · Saint-Gobain. Section added 2026-10-17.
Grade data last checked 2026-10-16. Blank cells mean not stated by the source. Each grade page cites its source. About the data · Suggest a correction
More guides: Which medical plastics survive gamma sterilization? · Autoclave-safe resins compared · EtO-compatible materials for catheters and tubing · Choosing a TPU for medical tubing · All guides
Overview of every polymer group: Medical-grade plastics: grades by polymer and sterilization